• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home About the SSHA Lore & Practices

Lore & Practices - Committees

Print PDF
Article Index
Lore & Practices
Program Committee
Membership Information
All Pages


II. Committees

A. Executive Committee

1. The SSHA Executive Committee consists of the four SSHA officers (President, Vice President, Executive Director, and Treasurer); nine elected members with staggered three-year terms (see amendment to Constitution); and the three most recent past presidents willing and able to serve. All members of the Executive Committee are voting members.

2. The nine elected members of the Executive Committee are chosen from a ballot proposed by the Nominating Committee and should represent a balance of disciplines, gender, race, and geographical locations.

3. The Executive Committee meets in person twice during the annual meeting; members should be available for consultation and/or virtual meetings during the rest of the year.

B. Publications Committee

1. Six members serving staggered three-year terms (see amendment to Constitution)

2. Responsible for overseeing publications of Association: currently SOCIAL SCIENCE HISTORY (current contract with Cambridge University Press

3. Responsible for selecting editors of the Journal and members of President's Book Award Committee.

4. Consult with Executive Director, President, and Treasurer on new contracts.

5. Report to the officers and Executive Committee at annual meeting.

6. Vice President selects a chair, normally one of the two members entering the third and final year of service.

C. President's Book Award Committee

1. Three members selected by the Publications Committee for three-year, staggered terms.  Member serving third year of term chairs the committee. Fourth member of committee serves one year term and is usually the previous year's Award winner.

2. Prepare announcement of President's Book Award, solicit and read manuscripts for Award.  The prize of $1000 rewards an especially meritorious first work by an early-career scholar.  Submissions for the President’s Book Award in any year must bear a copyright date from the previous year and be published within eight years of the author’s Ph.D..

3. Send name of winner(s) for annual award to Executive Director before annual meeting. Committee chair makes announcement of winner at annual meeting.

D. Nominating Committee

1. Selected by the Vice President (a chair and four members) for a one-year term.

2. Draw up a slate for elections including Vice President, Executive Director or Treasurer (if respective four-year terms are up), three members of Executive Committee, and two members of the Publications Committee. Sole candidates are to be put forward for Vice President, Executive Director and Treasurer; and pairs of candidates for slots on the Executive and Publications committees. Ask all candidates if they will run and agree to serve if elected, and to provide a bio-sketch for ballot.

3. Timing: During the summer and early fall the committee should decide which disciplines, genders, etc. are needed for each slot and generate names for the slots. It is wise to have more names than needed since some people will refuse.

4. Candidates for elected office should demonstrate commitment and familiarity with  the principles of the Social Science History Association as demonstrated by regular attendance at the annual meeting and  service such as previous elected office, network chair, member of the Editorial Board of Social Science History or organizing panels  As an aid for selection process: obtain copies of List of Past Officers, Committee Members, network chairs and conference participants from the Executive Director.

5. Inform President and Executive Director of final candidates selected. Send list of candidates for each open position (with names, disciplines, institutional affiliations, and bios for the ballot) to Executive Director for balloting. Electronic balloting completed in time to announce the results at the Annual Meeting.

6. Executive Director reports results of online election to President, Vice President, and Nominations Committee Chair.

7. N.B. All offices should represent a balance of disciplines, gender, race, and geographical locations. Presidency usually circulates among disciplines.

E. Alan Sharlin Memorial Award Committee

1. Four members selected for two-year, staggered terms. Two members selected each year by the Vice President. The awardee from the previous year is usually asked to serve.  Vice President selects committee chair, usually from cohort serving second year on committee.

2. Write announcement for the annual award, honoring the best book in social science history published in the previous year usually by the summer.

3. Read submissions and agree on a book for award.

4. Report name, address, etc. of winner to Executive Director.

5. Committee chair announces winner of award at the annual meeting.





The Deadline for Submission has been extended to March 17!