• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home Award Winners President's Book Award

Recipients of the SSHA Presidents Book Award

Print PDF
2016 President’s Book Award Winner

2016 Jonathan Wyrtzen Cornell University Making Morocco: Colonial Intervention and the Politics of Identity
2015 Aaron Panofsky University of Chicago Misbehaving Science: Controversy and the Development of Behavior Genetics
2014 Vanessa Ogle University of Pennsylvania Contesting Time: The Global Struggle for Uniformity and Its Unintended Consequences, 1870s-1950s
2013 Yiching Wu University of Toronto The Cultural Revolution at the Margins: Chinese Socialism in Crisis
2012 Lisa Stampniktzky Harvard  Disciplining Terror-How Experts Invented Terrorism
2011 Elizabeth Popp Berman Berkeley  Creating the Market University
2010 Ho-fung Hung Johns Hopkins Protests with Chinese Characteristics
2009 Greta Krippner Michigan  Capitalizing on Crisis
2008 Anthony Chen Northwestern  The Fifth Freedom
2007 Brody Fischer   For our Poverty of Rights
2007 Issac Martin Berkeley  In Defense of Privilege
2006 Sarah Igo  Vanderbilt  The Averaged American: Surveys, Citizens and the Making of a Mass Public
2005 Joseph Gerteis Minnesota Class and the Color Line
2004 Steven Pfaff Washington  Fight or Flight? Exit Voice Dynamics and the Collapse of East Germany
2003 Geoff Cunfer University of Saskatchewan  
2002 Robert D. Johnson Yale  The Radical Middle Class
2001 Stephen M. Striffler University of Arkansas In the Shadow of State and Capital
2000 Mark S. Weiner Yale  Americans Without Law
1999 Daniel Lord Smail Fordham  Imaginary Cartographies: Possession and Identity in Late Medieval Marseille
1998 Robert Freeland Stanford The Struggle for Control of the Modern Corporation
1997 Robert Lieberman Columbia  Shifting the Color Line
1996 Thomas Sugrue University of Pennsylvania The Origins of the Urban Crisis
1995 Leslie J. Reagan University of Illinois When Abortion Was a Crime
1994 Mary E. Odem Emory  Delinquent Daughters
1993 Mauro F. Guillen MIT Models of Management
1992 Stewart Tolnay Albany Festival of Violence
1991 no award given         
1990 Richard Maddox Augustana College El Castillo
1989 no award given         
1988 Gary A. Abraham St. Bonaventure Max Weber and the Jewish Question

Last Updated on Monday, 05 December 2016 17:48  


The Deadline for Submission has been extended to March 17!