• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home Award Winners Sharlin Book Award

Recipients of the SSHA Sharlin Award

Print PDF
2016 Allan Sharlin Memorial Award Winners

2016 Alan L. Olmstead,
Paul W. Rhode
Harvard University Arresting Contagion: Science, Policy, and Conflicts over Animal Disease Control
2015 Emily Erikson
Mara Loveman
Between Monopoly and Free Trade
National Colors: Racial Classification and the State in Latin America
2014 Fabian Drixler Yale University Mabiki: Infanticide and Population Growth in Eastern Japan, 1660-1950
2013 Monica Prasad Northwestern University The Land of Too Much
2012 John Tutino Georgetown  Making a New World
2011 Daniel Carpenter Harvard  Reputation and Power
2010 Randolph Roth Ohio State American Homicide 
2009 Sigrid Schmalzer University Mass @ Amherst The People's Peking Man
2008 George Steinmetz University of Michigan The Devil's Handwriting
2007 Nancy McLane Duke University Freedom is Not Enough
2006 Madeleine Zelin Columbia  The Merchants of Zigong
2005 Peter H. Lindert University of California-Davis Growing Public
2004 Frank Tobias Higbie UCLA Indispensable Outcasts
2003 Dirk Hoerder Arizona State  
2002 Deborah Cohen Northwestern University The War Come Home
2001 Steve Hochstadt Illinois College Mobility and Modernity
2000 James Z. Lee and Wang Feng Hong Kong University and U. of Michigan One Quarter of Humanity
1999 Jose C. Moya UCLA Cousins and  Strangers
1998 Rogers Smith University of Pennsylvania Civic Ideals
1997 Philip Hoffman California Institute of Tech. Growth in a Traditional Society
1996 Eric A.  Johnson University of Wyoming Urbanization and Crime
1995 Karen Barkey Columbia Bandits and Bureaucrats
1994 Susan Pederson Columbia Family, Dependence, and the Origins of the Welfare State
1993 Theda Skocpol Harvard Proctecting Soldiers and Mothers
1992 Ramon A. Gutierrez University of Wisconson-Madison When Jesus Came, the Corn Mothers Went Away
1991 Claudia Goldin Harvard Understanding the Gender Gap
1990 Allen Steinberg University of Iowa The Transformation of Criminal Justice
1989 Kenneth Winkle University of Wisconson-Madison The Politics of Community
1988 Steven Ruggles University of Minnesota Prolonged Connections
1987 Terrence J. McDonald LSU The Parameters of Urban Fiscal Policy
1986 Allan Greer   Peasant, Lord and Merchant
1985 Philip McMichael Cornell University Settlers and the Agrarian Question



The Deadline for Submission has been extended to March 17!