• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home 2017 Book Award Submission President's Book Award
Print PDF

2017 President's Book Award

The Social Science History Association welcomes submissions for the 2017 President's Book Award.  The prize of $1000 rewards an especially meritorious first work by an early-career scholar.  Submissions for the 2017 President’s Book Award must bear a copyright date of 2016 and be published within eight years of the author’s Ph.D.

Entrants will be judged on the criteria of scholarly significance, interdisciplinary reach, and methodological innovativeness within the broad category of monographs analyzing past structures and events and change over time.

Authors or their publishers may choose to enter a book in either the President’s Book Award competition or in the Allan Sharlin Memorial Award competition, but may not enter both SSHA award competitions.

Announcement of the 2017 SSHA President’s Book Award winner will be made at the 2017 Annual Conference in Montreal, Quebec Canada Nov 2-5, 2017.


Authors or their publishers may enter the President’s Book Award competition by sending one copy of the book along with the author’s CV to each of the four members of the awards committee and to the SSHA Executive Director at the following addresses:  

Dr. Timothy Cuff, Chair (History)
History Program, Box 36
Westminster College
319 S. Market Street
New Wilmington, PA 16172

Dr. Leah Boustan (Economics)
Princeton University
Industrial Relations Section
Louis A. Simpson International Bldg.
Princeton, NJ 08544

Dr. Lorraine Minnite (Public Policy and Administration)
Dept. of Public Policy & Administration
Rutgers University
401 Cooper Street
Camden, NJ 08102

Dr. Jonathan Wyrtzen (History)
POB 208265
New Haven, CT 06520

Dr. William Block, Executive Director
Social Science History Association
391 Pine Tree Rd
Ithaca, NY 14850


May 15, 2017




The Deadline for Submission has been extended to March 17!