• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home News Past News

2013 President's Book Award

Print PDF

The Social Science History Association announces the annual President's Book Award of $1000 for a new manuscript. The prize rewards an especially meritorious first work by a beginning scholar.

Scholars who have a previously-published book are not eligible for this award. Entrants will be judged on the criteria of scholarly significance, interdisciplinary reach, and methodological innovativeness, within the broad category of monographs analyzing past structures and events and change over time. SSHA invites studies of family and demography, popular mentalities, political economy, state-society relationships, electoral and legislative behavior, and the history of the social and behavioral sciences; other substantive realms may also be represented. The Association includes in consideration theoretically-informed accounts examined from quantitative, interpretive, and other perspectives.

Manuscripts can be under consideration by a press at the time of submission to the award committee but must not be in print before the prize is awarded (this year, in November). A letter from the press stating that the manuscript will not be published before December 2013 is required. A manuscript may only be submitted for this award once; manuscripts that were submitted in an earlier year but are not yet in print are not allowed.

Announcement of the winner of the 2013 President’s Book Award will be made at the November 2013 meeting of the Social Science History Association in Chicago, IL.

Award Committee:

Cedric de Leon, Sociology, Providence College
Timothy Cuff, History, Westminster College
John Murray, Economics, Rhodes College
Lisa Stampnitsky, Charles Warren Center for Studies in American History, Harvard University


Entries must be received by June 30, 2013.

To submit a manuscript for the President's Award, please send 5 (five) copies of your manuscript to the Executive Director of SSHA:

William C. Block
Executive Director
Social Science History Association
391 Pine Tree Road
Ithaca, NY 14850






The Deadline for Submission has been extended to March 17!