• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home News Past News

2016 Allan Sharlin Memorial Award

Print PDF

To honor the memory of their son and brother, Allan, the Sharlin family has generously donated funds to the Social Science History Association to promote scholarly contributions in the fields in which Allan was active.

Allan exemplified the finest traditions of social science history. His training and scholarship were broadly interdisciplinary and he used both quantitative and more traditional methodologies. He received his B.A. in History from the University of Chicago and his Ph.D. in History from the University of Wisconsin, he studied demography for two years at the Office of Population Research at Princeton University, and, at the time of his death in March 1983, he was on the faculty of the Department of Sociology at the University of California, Berkeley. During his brief scholarly career he published articles on sociological theory, on social and spatial mobility in German cities, and on new techniques for estimating demographic parameters in historical populations.

Authors or their publishers may choose to enter a book in either the President’s Book Award competition or the Allan Sharlin Memorial Award competition, but may not enter their book in both SSHA award competitions

The Allan Sharlin Memorial Award is presented annually for an outstanding book in social science history published in the previous year (2015). The amount of the award is $1000.

Announcement of the winner of the 2016 Sharlin Memorial Award will be made at the upcoming annual meeting of the Social Science History Association in Chicago, IL, USA, November 17-20, 2016.

Committee members:

Brian Gratton, Chair (History, Arizona State)
Mary Ann Dzuback (Education, History, Washington University in St. Louis)
Fabian Drixler (History, Yale)
Matt Norton (Sociology, Oregon)


Entries must be received by July 20, 2016.

To submit a book for the Sharlin Award competition, please send 5 (five) copies of your book, as follows:  

send 1 (one) copy to: William C. Block
SSHA Sharlin Award Book Committee
Social Science History Association
391 Pine Tree Road
Ithaca, NY 14850
send 1 (one) copy to: Brian Gratton
SSHA Sharlin Award Book Committee
425 W. Rio Salado
Unit 107
Tempe, AZ 85281
send 1 (one) copy to: Mary Ann Dzuback
SSHA Sharlin Award Book Committee
324 E Dudley Ave
Westfield, NJ 07090
send 1 (one) copy to: Fabian Drixler
SSHA Sharlin Award Book Committee
92 Mansfield St.
New Haven, CT 06511
send 1 (one) copy to: Matt Norton
SSHA Sharlin Award Book Committee
Department of Sociology
1291 University of Oregon
Eugene, OR 97403-1291


The Deadline for Submission has been extended to March 17!