Presidents Book Award

A $1000 prize is awarded annually for a meritorious first work by an early-career scholar. Entrants are judged on scholarly significance, interdisciplinary reach, and methodological innovativeness within monographs analyzing past structures and events and change over time. Books with a copyright date of the previous year that are published within eight years of the author’s Ph.D. are eligible for consideration.

The submission window for the 2019 SSHA Presidents Book Award is now open. Submissions with a postmark of August 31 (or earlier) will be accepted. Late entries will not be considered. Authors or publishers wishing to nominate a book should mail an author’s curriculum vitae and a copy of the nominated book to each member of the award committee.

The award committee for 2019 will be posted soon.

Past Winners

Year Author Institution Title
2018 Keri Leigh Merritt Masterless Men: Poor Whites and Slavery in the Antebellum South
2018 Taisu Zhang The Laws and Economics of Confucianism: Kinship and Property in Preindustrial China and England
2017 William Rankin After the Map: Cartography, Navigation, and the Transformation of Territory in the Twentieth Century.
2016 Jonathan Wyrtzen Cornell University Making Morocco: Colonial Intervention and the Politics of Identity
2015 Aaron Panofsky University of Chicago Misbehaving Science: Controversy and the Development of Behavior Genetics
2014 Vanessa Ogle University of Pennsylvania Contesting Time: The Global Struggle for Uniformity and Its Unintended Consequences, 1870s-1950s
2013 Yiching Wu University of Toronto The Cultural Revolution at the Margins: Chinese Socialism in Crisis
2012 Lisa Stampniktzky Harvard Disciplining Terror-How Experts Invented Terrorism
2011 Elizabeth Popp Berman Berkeley Creating the Market University
2010 Ho-fung Hung Johns Hopkins Protests with Chinese Characteristics
2009 Greta Krippner Michigan Capitalizing on Crisis
2008 Anthony Chen Northwestern The Fifth Freedom
2007 Brody Fischer For our Poverty of Rights
2007 Issac Martin Berkeley In Defense of Privilege
2006 Sarah Igo Vanderbilt The Averaged American: Surveys, Citizens and the Making of a Mass Public
2005 Joseph Gerteis Minnesota Class and the Color Line
2004 Steven Pfaff Washington Fight or Flight? Exit Voice Dynamics and the Collapse of East Germany
2003 Geoff Cunfer University of Saskatchewan
2002 Robert D. Johnson Yale The Radical Middle Class
2001 Stephen M. Striffler University of Arkansas In the Shadow of State and Capital
2000 Mark S. Weiner Yale Americans Without Law
1999 Daniel Lord Smail Fordham Imaginary Cartographies: Possession and Identity in Late Medieval Marseille
1998 Robert Freeland Stanford The Struggle for Control of the Modern Corporation
1997 Robert Lieberman Columbia Shifting the Color Line
1996 Thomas Sugrue University of Pennsylvania The Origins of the Urban Crisis
1995 Leslie J. Reagan University of Illinois When Abortion Was a Crime
1994 Mary E. Odem Emory Delinquent Daughters
1993 Mauro F. Guillen MIT Models of Management
1992 Stewart Tolnay Albany Festival of Violence
1991 no award given
1990 Richard Maddox Augustana College El Castillo
1989 no award given
1988 Gary A. Abraham St. Bonaventure Max Weber and the Jewish Question


The call for papers for the 2019 conference is now available.

Click here to apply for the 2019 Graduate Student Travel Award.

The submission deadline for SSHA 2019 has been extended to March 15th.

SSHA 2019 will be held in Chicago, November 21-24, 2019.

Click here to submit to our Annual Conference by March 15th.

Supporting SSHA