Allan Sharlin Memorial Book Award

A $1,000 prize is awarded annually for an outstanding book in social science history to honor the memory of Allan Sharlin. Allen exemplified the finest traditions of social science history. His training and scholarship were broadly interdisciplinary and he used both quantitative and more traditional methodologies. Books published in the previous year are eligible for consideration.

The submission window for the 2019 Sharlin Memorial Book Award is now open. Submissions with a postmark of June 15 (or earlier) will be accepted. Late entries will not be considered. Authors or publishers wishing to nominate a book should mail copies to each member of the award committee.

The award committee for 2019 will be posted soon.

Past Winners

Year Author Institution Title
2018 Leah Platt Boustan Competition in the Promised Land: Black Migrants in Northern Cities and Labor Markets
2018 Angel Adams Parham American Routes: Racial Palimpsests and the Transformation of Race
2018 Joel Mokyr A Culture of Growth: The Origins of the Modern Economy
2017 Jaeeun Kim Contested Embrace: Transborder Membership Politics in Twentieth-Century Korea
2016 Alan L. Olmstead, Paul W. Rhode Harvard University Arresting Contagion: Science, Policy, and Conflicts over Animal Disease Control
2015 Emily Erikson Between Monopoly and Free Trade
2015 Mara Loveman National Colors: Racial Classification and the State in Latin America
2014 Fabian Drixler Yale University Mabiki: Infanticide and Population Growth in Eastern Japan, 1660-1950
2013 Monica Prasad Northwestern University The Land of Too Much
2012 John Tutino Georgetown Making a New World
2011 Daniel Carpenter Harvard Reputation and Power
2010 Randolph Roth Ohio State American Homicide
2009 Sigrid Schmalzer University of Massachusetts, Amherst The People’s Peking Man
2008 George Steinmetz University of Michigan The Devil’s Handwriting
2007 Nancy McLane Duke University Freedom is Not Enough
2006 Madeleine Zelin Columbia The Merchants of Zigong
2005 Peter H. Lindert University of California-Davis Growing Public
2004 Frank Tobias Higbie UCLA Indispensable Outcasts
2003 Dirk Hoerder Arizona State
2002 Deborah Cohen Northwestern University The War Come Home
2001 Steve Hochstadt Illinois College Mobility and Modernity
2000 James Z. Lee and Wang Feng Hong Kong University and U. of Michigan One Quarter of Humanity
1999 Jose C. Moya UCLA Cousins and Strangers
1998 Rogers Smith University of Pennsylvania Civic Ideals
1997 Philip Hoffman California Institute of Tech. Growth in a Traditional Society
1996 Eric A. Johnson University of Wyoming Urbanization and Crime
1995 Karen Barkey Columbia Bandits and Bureaucrats
1994 Susan Pederson Columbia Family, Dependence, and the Origins of the Welfare State
1993 Theda Skocpol Harvard Proctecting Soldiers and Mothers
1992 Ramon A. Gutierrez University of Wisconson-Madison When Jesus Came, the Corn Mothers Went Away
1991 Claudia Goldin Harvard Understanding the Gender Gap
1990 Allen Steinberg University of Iowa The Transformation of Criminal Justice
1989 Kenneth Winkle University of Wisconson-Madison The Politics of Community
1988 Steven Ruggles University of Minnesota Prolonged Connections
1987 Terrence J. McDonald LSU The Parameters of Urban Fiscal Policy
1986 Allan Greer Peasant, Lord and Merchant
1985 Philip McMichael Cornell University Settlers and the Agrarian Question


The call for papers for the 2019 conference is now available.

Click here to apply for the 2019 Graduate Student Travel Award.

The submission deadline for SSHA 2019 has been extended to March 15th.

SSHA 2019 will be held in Chicago, November 21-24, 2019.

Click here to submit to our Annual Conference by March 15th.

Supporting SSHA