Book Prizes

The Association awards two annual prizes for outstanding books in social science history.

President’s Book Award

A $1000 prize is awarded annually for a meritorious first work by an early-career scholar. Entrants are judged on scholarly significance, interdisciplinary reach, and methodological innovativeness within monographs analyzing past structures and events and change over time. Books with a copyright date of the previous year that are published within eight years of the author’s Ph.D. are eligible for consideration.

2017 Winner: William Rankin, After the Map: Cartography, Navigation, and the Transformation of Territory in the Twentieth Century. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2016. (University of Chicago Press, 2016).

See a list of past winners >>

Allan Sharlin Memorial Book Award

A $1,000 prize is awarded annually for an outstanding book in social science history to honor the memory of Allan Sharlin. Allen exemplified the finest traditions of social science history. His training and scholarship were broadly interdisciplinary and he used both quantitative and more traditional methodologies. Books published in the previous year are eligible for consideration.

2017 Winner: Jaeeun Kim, Contested Embrace: Transborder Membership Politics in Twentieth-Century Korea. (Stanford University Press, 2016)

See a list of past winners >>

Paper Prizes

The Association promotes high quality scholarship through its awards program, which recognize the best work by a younger scholar and the best work by any scholar in our many fields submitted to our annual conference. The two paper prizes are given only for papers published in Social Science History during the previous year. The winning papers are selected by the journal’s editorial board.

Founder’s Prize

2017 Winner: Myron P. Gutmann, Daniel Brown, Angela R. Cunningham, James Dykes, Susan Hautaniemi Leonard, Jani Little, Jeremy Mikecz, Paul W. Rhode, Seth Spielman, Kenneth M. Sylvester. “Migration in the 1930s: Beyond the Dust Bowl” Social Science History 40(4), p. 707-740.

See a list of past winners >>

Graduate Student Paper Prize

2017 Winner:

See a list of past winners >>


Graduate students: Apply for travel awards to attend SSHA 2018 by March 15th. Click here to apply.

Check out the call for papers for SSHA 2018: Histories of Disadvantage.

Submit your paper to the 2018 conference.

Interested in serving as editor-in-chief of Social Science History? Please click here for more information.

Supporting SSHA